Tirokafteri

TirokafteriAnd the big winner at yesterday’s party is….drum roll please…..TIROKAFTERI!!!! I am pleased to share that my third dip of the day was a huge hit with hungry masses. Yesterday we were at my sister’s celebrating my nephew’s birthday and my sister asked me to make her a few things for the appetizer table. Willingly, I made three dips: Hummus, Guacamole and Tirokafteri. The Hummus and Guacamole were the cool dips of the day, however I thought I change-up my third dip and serve it warm. What a great idea! The three cheeses along with the garlic and zesty tomato made this warm dip irresistable. Witn in minutes the ceramic serving dish was polished of the cheesy goodness. This take on the classic – Tirokafteri – was introduced to me by my uncle Theodoro in Greece. Traditionally, Tirokafteri is served cold and only featured one cheese: Feta. Theio Theodoro however likes to combine the Feta with a couple of other cheeses along with zesty tomato, loads of garlic and a hint of spicy pepper. Yesterday, I decided to refine my recipe further by adding cream cheese so that it has a nice smooth, creamy consistency when it is dipped with the pita. The result was perfect and I was very happy that everyone enjoyed my version of the classic Tirokafteri.

Tirokafteri 2200 g of Feta, crumbled

200 g of Fruilano, shredded

8 oz cream cheese, cubed

1 tbsp minced garlic

2 roma tomatoes, cored and diced

1 tsp cayenne pepper

1/2 tbsp oregano

Place all the ingredients in a ceramic baking dish or fondue pot and bake until melted. Serve with crusty bread or grilled pita.

2 thoughts on “Tirokafteri

  1. Eleni!!!!!!!! I was at the birthday party and this dip was by far my most favorite!!!! I’m so exited to try your recipie!!! I’m passing on your website to co-workers. You are the most amazing cook!! Barb (Les)

    • HI Bard! Nice hearing from you. Thank you for visiting my website and enjoying my Tirokafteri (Spicy Cheese Dip). Thank you for sharing my website with your co-workers. If you are interested in ordering Empanadas or anything else for a gathering or just because let me know.

Leave a Reply

