Potato Tomato Salad

Potato Tomato SaladEvery spring my parents experiment with their vegetable garden by adding a new vegetable to their existing edible staples. Last year, they tried growing kale, potatoes and different varieties of tomatoes. The kale and the yellow cherry tomatoes did surprisingly well but the potatoes did not. This year, my parents replanted the kale and yellow cherry tomato but did away with planting potatoes to make room for other experiments. Fortunately, we have had a great growing season in Southern Ontario this summer and we have be able to enjoy the fruits of my parents labour with the abundance of produce. A couple of days back I brought home with me a basket of tomatoes from my parents’ vegetable patch and to my delight I saw that my Dad had added a generous amount of their yellow cherry tomatoes. Boy, oh boy was I ever excited to cook something up with these mild tasting blond beauties. The nice thing about the yellow cherry tomato aside from the shape is the flavour. The fruit itself is small and grows into this pretty little bell shape and because it is low in acid the flesh and juice of the tomato is sweet which lends beautifully to summer salads. The other day, I was roasting a whole chicken and decided to accompany the chicken with a potato salad. At first I was going to make my Dad’s famous potato salad but immediately saw that I did not have any white onions. Besides the potatoes, white onions are needed for my Dad’s potato salad. After scanning the contents of my fridge for inspiration the yellow cherry tomatoes sitting on the tomato basket spoke to me and thus my Potato Tomato Salad was created.

POTATO TOMATO SALAD

12 mini white potatoes

1 pint of yellow cherry tomatoes

200 g sliced black forest ham

1/2 bunch of cilantro chopped

juice of 1 lime

salt

pepper

1 tsp minced garlic

2 tbsp apple cider vinegar

200 g grated Parmesan Cheese

1. While you boil the potatoes, saute the black forest ham in a non-stick pan with 2 tbsp of avocado oil until slightly brown and crispy.

2. After boiling the potatoes, strain them and allow to cool for 5 to 10 minutes so that you can handle them without getting burned. Boiled potatoes are hot. Quarter them once they are cooled down slightly.

3. Place the quartered potatoes and sautéed ham along with the pan oil in a large salad bowl. Cut the yellow cherry tomatoes in half and add them to the salad bowl. The heat from the potatoes and ham will softened the tomato up slightly to release the flavour.

4. Lastly, add the chopped cilantro, the dressing and the Parmesan Cheese. For the dressing mix the lime juice, minced garlic, apple cider vinegar, salt and pepper together in a small bowl.

5. Enjoy this salad on its own as a light lunch or you can pair it with any protein dish. I paired it with roasted chicken.

Leave a Reply

