Sausage and Cheese Frittata

Sausage and Cheese FrittataA few times I have been told that I spoil my husband because I cook for him everyday. Perhaps this is true however I believe providing good food for my family is not spoiling them, it’s giving them the nourishment to lead healthy productive lives. Sometimes I am stuck on an idea or I don’t have too much time to prepare elaborate meals. One these occasions my pantry and fridge are my best friends because they guide me to preparing a meal that delicious and satisfying. Last week I had one of those days (chef’s block and stuck for time moment) so I rummaged through my fridge for inspiration. With a few simple ingredients I managed to make Rafael a hearty dinner with lots of leftovers for his lunch the next day.

Sausage and Cheese Frittata

4 medium potatoes

4 eggs

1/2 cup milk

salt

pepper

1/4 tsp sweet smoked paprika

2 beef sausages, sliced thin

1/2 red onion, sliced

canola oil

2 cups of shredded sharp cheddar

1 cube of butter

1. Boil the potatoes for 30 minutes. Set aside and then slice into 1/2 inch slices.

2. Beat the eggs together with the milk, salt, pepper and paprika.

3. Saute the red onion in a bit of canola oil for 5 minutes. Then add the sausage slices and saute for another 5 minutes together with the red onions.

4. To assemble the frittate you need a circular baking dish. Brush the bottom of the bakind dish with butter so that the frittate doesn’t stick to the dish. Layer the potatoes on the bottom of the dish followed by the egg mixture. Then top it off with the red onions and sausage. Last pile on the cheddar cheese.

5. Bake in a preheated oven at 375 F for 30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

