Roasted Beet Salad

Roasted Beet SaladAutumn is an amazing season for cooking because there is a lot of variety of fresh produce to choose from. Thankfully our Autumn in the GTA has been favourable for the growing season and the markets have awesome deals on local vegetables and fruits. My favourite Autumn vegetables are the hearty and healthy root vegetables such as beets, sweet potatoes and squash. A couple of weeks back I scored a 10 lbs bag of beets from my local supermarket and I was happier in a pig in mud. The first thing I did with my 10 lbs of beets was I shared a pound or two with my Mom since she’s always supplying me with other delicious produce fresh from her garden. The second thing with the beets was I created a very exciting new salad. Roasted Beet Salad.

6 to 8 large beets peeled and cubed

1 large onion sliced

3 to 4 garlic cloves, sliced

1 tbsp basil

salt

pepper

2 tbsp olive oil

1. Place all these ingredients in a roasting pan and roast at 450 F for 45 minutes or until tender.

Romaine Lettuce

Goat Cheese

pecans

apple cider vinegar

2. In a shallow salad bowl lay the romaine lettuce on the bottom and dress with apple cider vinegar.

3. Spoon the roasted beets on top of the lettuce and the goat cheese.

4. Last sprinkle with chopped pecans.

2 thoughts on “Roasted Beet Salad

Leave a Reply

