Cilantro and Cashew Pesto Salmon

DSCN0358Yesterday afternoon I got the best compliment from my husband about my cooking. Usually, I know that my husband likes a dish I’ve made by helping himself to seconds or thirds. If he doesn’t like the food he is eating he will say, “Thank you for the food.”, and then eat a piece of bread, “Just to balance the taste in my mouth.” The second signal doesn’t happen often but when it does I feel awful. On the many occasions that Rafael eats up the whole pan I feel like I’ve done a good job and that my hard work is appreciated. For several seasons now, we have been watching the Master Chef competitions and although this is TV show (for entertainment) it is educational to some degree. One of the things my husband and I have been educated in has been in “talking about food” like a professional chef or foodie person. The coin phrase that comes up in almost every episode is “to elevate food” from being good to restaurant quality. This is executed by use of ingredients, cooking techniques and overall flavour of the food. Yesterday, I created a dish that according to my loving husband was “elevated” from a home cooked meal to something that he would order at a fancy eatery. The dish – Cilantro and Cashew Pesto Salmon. Here’s how I did it.

DSCN0356Cilantro and Cashew Pesto

1 bunch of cilantro

5 gloves of garlic

juice of 1 lemon

salt

olive oil

1 cup cashews

1. Chop the cilantro roughly so that it can be blended easily in the blender.

2. Add the lemon juice, garlic cloves, salt and olive oil into the blender and pulse for a few minutes. *Be generous with the olive oil.

3. Last, add the cashews and continue pulsing until you get a nice smooth texture.

DSCN0357Cilantro and Cashew Pesto Salmon

4 salmon fillets of 1 large salmon fillet you can cut into 4 pieces

1/4 cup sesame oil

2 tbsp soy sauce

1 cup of Cilantro and Cashew Pesto

1. Preheat oven to 425 F.

2. In a small mixing bowl combine the sesame oil and soy sauce. Brush onto the salmon fillets and place in a baking dish.

3. Spoon on 1 cup of the Cilantro and Cashew Pesto and spread evenly on top of the seasoned salmon fillets.

4. Bake uncovered for 30 minutes.

5. Serve with your favourite side dish. We eat it with yucca fries to stay with the flavours and foods of South America.

If you want to make more of this delicious and refreshing pesto just double all the ingredients. The amount listed in this post is for about 3 cups of pesto.

6 thoughts on “Cilantro and Cashew Pesto Salmon

  1. Pingback: Coconut Cashew Chicken | Eleni's Culinary Journey

Leave a Reply

