Coconut Cashew Chicken

The other day, I created a new condiment that I totally love. On Sunday, I created a pesto made of cilantro and cashews out of the necessity to consume the cilantro that I forgot in the crisper. Before it was inedible I rescued it from certain ruin and blended the fragrant herb with garlic, lemon juice and a handful of cashews. The result – Cilantro Pesto! I can’t get enough of the refreshing burst of taste from the cilantro together with the savoury bite of the garlic and tangyness of the lemon. The first time I cooked with the Cilantro Pesto, it was featured on the baked salmon fillets. Last night, I decided to add another layer of flavour to the Coconut Cashew Chicken by adding a tablespoon on the green goodness. The freshness of the cilantro pesto offset the creamy coconut sauce perfectly to create a dish that was unforgettable and addictive. A perfect marriage in umami.

Here is how I made my Coconut Cashew Chicken

DSCN03602 chicken breasts, cubed

2 small onions, diced

4 garlic cloves, minced

1 inch ginger, minced

1/2 tsp turmeric

1/4 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp coriander powder

1/2 cup bread crumbs

1 cup chicken stock

1 can coconut milk

1 tbsp Cilantro Pesto

1 cup cashews

2 tbsp canola oil

1. Brown the chicken pieces in the canola oil for 7 to 10 minutes and set aside.

2. In the same pan saute the onions, garlic and ginger for 2 minutes on medium heat.

3. Add the spices: turmeric, cumin and coriander powder and stir into the onion saute.

4. Gently stir in the bread crumbs followed by the chicken stock. As the liquid starts to bubble lower the heat and add the coconut milk. Allow the sauce to thicken but stir continuously so that the sauce does not stick to the pan.

5. Stir in the cilantro pesto followed by the chicken pieces and cashews. Lower the heat to low and simmer for 7 to 10 minutes. Serve over basmati rice.

2 thoughts on “Coconut Cashew Chicken

    • Teagan! I read the episode. Very good. I left you a comment on the episode page. I love cilantro too. It’s so versatile. You can pick other ingredients from other recipes if you wish for future episodes. This is fun.

Leave a Reply

