Easter Beef Roulade

DSCN0519Every Easter it is a Greek tradition to eat lamb and usually roasted on a spit. Those who have a large number lamb eaters in the family and have the space to roast a whole lamb on the soulva partake in the tradition. Those families that are an anomaly will roast a portion of a lamb in the oven and also serve some other meat dish to satisfy the non-lamb eaters. My family is an anomaly when it comes to Easter eating traditions. Aside from our parents the only other people who eat lamb in the family are our husbands. Since we are a small family roasting a whole lamb would be a waste therefore our Mom oven roasts lamb in the oven and I bring the other meat dish. My sister is always on dessert duty because she makes the best desserts. This year my Easter dish was inspired by another blogger friend Nandini from Goan Imports. A while back Nandini posted her recipe for Goan style Beef Rolls; Beef Roulade and this was the recipe that had me salivating and dreaming about during my week of fasting. Although my dish has taken a more Mediterranean flavour, the idea came from this talented chef. Thank you Nandini!

12 beef cutlets

4 Asian Eggplant

2 red peppers

1 orange pepper

1 bunch of asparagus

200 g seasoned white cheddar

1 cup tomato pulp

1/2 cup red wine

1/4 cup boiled water

1 tbsp garlic powder

1/2 tbsp oregano

1/4 tsp cinnamon

salt

pepper

DSCN05131. First, I sliced the eggplants and peppers about 1 inch thickness and roasted in the oven at 425 F. Before placing them in the oven I brushed the vegetables with olive oil and seasoned with salt and pepper. The vegetables were roasted for 30 minutes; 15 minutes on eat side.

2. Second, I roasted the asparagus in the oven at 400 F for 15 minutes. The asparagus was brushed with olive oil and seasoned with salt and pepper.

3. Next I seasoned each beef fillet with salt and pepper before assembling the rolls.

DSCN0516

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. To assemble the rolls I placed one piece of cheese, one piece of eggplant, one each of peppers and one asparagus at one end of the beef fillet. Gently, I rolled the beef fillet making sure that the filling was tightly tucked in.

5. Before placing the beef rolls into the roasting pan I prepared the roasting juices. In the roasting pan I combined the tomato pulp, red wine, garlic powder, oregano, cumin, cinnamon, salt and pepper. Just before adding the beef rolls I added the boiled water.

DSCN05176. As I placed each roll in the roasting pan I turned the rolls into the pan juices to marinade each roll.

7. Finally, I roasted the beef rolls, covered,  in a preheated oven at 425 F for 30 minutes. At 15 minutes I turned the beef rolls as to get an even roast and continued to roast for another 15 minutes.

8. To reduce the amount of liquid in the pan, I reduced the oven temperature to 400 F and continued roasting with the lid removed.

One thought on “Easter Beef Roulade

  1. Pingback: Easter Beef Roulade | Eleni's Culinary Journey

Leave a Reply

