Cinco de Mayo Bacon Pie

DSCN0533I know this post is past its due date seeing how we are in June and Cinco de Mayo is a resent memory but I wanted to share with you one of my creations that was inspired by Saveur magazine that didn’t have much to do with Cinco de Mayo at the beginning. In the beginning I wanted to attempt at making a Bacon Pie. Bacon Pie?! You ask in wonder. Yes! Bacon Pie. What made this dish I craved a Bacon Pie was its bacon lattice topping. For weeks I stared at this recipe stuck to my fridge but never had the courage to try it. Until a couple of months before Cinco de Mayo.

Many food magazines were featuring recipe ideas to celebrate a popular Mexican holiday. Colourful pages upon colourful pages of Mexican ingredients adorned these pages promising being whisked away to a flavourful holiday right in our own homes. Almost every dish featured jalapeno and cilantro, cumin and oregano, lime and salsa. Of course these magazine editors knew what they were doing because I fell into their powerful grasp of persuasion. I too wanted to get away from it all and escape to spicy and aromatic Mexico. I too wanted to have a carnival in my mouth. I too craved the flavours of our brothers and sisters of the south.

With these two inspirations I was armed and ready to venture into a new cooking experience. I was going to marry the Bacon Pie with Mexican ingredients to be united in a cross-cultural dish; Cinco de Mayo Bacon Pie. The combination was delightful. Here is how I created the Cinco de Mayo Bacon Pie.

DSCN0526Step one: I arranged 10 slices of organic bacon from Nutrafarms into a lattice and baked it in a 400 F oven for 15 minutes. After baking I set is aside to cool down so that it would be easier to handle.

Step two: While the bacon was baking in the oven I prepared the egg mixture. In a medium bowl I whisked 4 eggs, 1 cup of milk, salt, pepper, 1 tbsp or cumin and 1/2 tbsp oregano.

Step three: In a separate bowl I tossed 1 diced tomato, 2 chopped jalapenos, 1 sliced red onion and 1/2 bunch of cilantro. I spooned this into a pre-made pie shell.

Step four: I gently poured the egg mixture into the pie shell along with the vegetables and topped it with shredded Tex-Mex cheese blend.

DSCN0529Step five: I placed the pie shell with its contents in the oven for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes took out the pie, covered it with the bacon lattice and put bake in the oven to continue baking for another 15 minutes.

Step six: To serve I prepared a simple salad of lettuce, tomato and cucumber in lime dressing.

4 thoughts on “Cinco de Mayo Bacon Pie

Leave a Reply

