Pumpkin Almond Bread

Pumpkin Almond Bread

All week I have been craving a moist, comforting sweet bread. Since being in lockdown mode for the last eight months, I have changed my eating lifestyle. One of these changes are using nut flours such as almond, pecan and walnut flour because of my intolerance to wheat. Another important change is using coconut palm sugar, monk fruit blend or maple syrup to lower my blood sugar levels. The Pumpkin Almond Bread I made tonight features almond flour and coconut palm sugar.

Ingredients

2 cups almond flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg/clove blend

2 tsp lucuma powder

2 eggs

5 tbsp psyllium husk

1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 cup coconut palm sugar

3/4 cup roasted butternut squash purée

1/3 cup warm water

Instructions

1. Mix all dry ingredients into a large mixing bowl. Set aside.

2. Mix eggs, coconut palm sugar, warm water, apple cider vinegar, psyllium husk and pumpkin purée altogether.

3. Add the pumpkin purée mixture with the dry ingredients until combined.

4. Line a 9”x 5” loaf pan with parchment paper. Pour bread mixture into pan making sure the contents are evenly distributed. Bake for 50 minutes in the oven at 350F.

I am very pleased with the result of tonight’s baking experiment. The condo filled with the nutty aroma of almonds and sweetened with pumpkin spice. The sweet bread is moist and has a slightly crunchy crust which creates a texture profile that I love. Its earthy sweetness from the coconut palm sugar and the lucuma powder are perfectly paired with the nutty flavour of the ground almonds. Pure medicine to calm my lockdown nerves.

The best part is that my son Achilles, who tends to be a picky eater loved it. One inhale of the warm Pumpkin Almond Bread and he was in bread heaven.

I’m pairing my evening treat with a warm cup of Golden Milk Tea.

Leave a comment