Problem Solving in the Kitchen

This was the original way I would prepare peppers to be stuffed.

I love it when I find myself in a pickle but then discover a way to get out of the jar. The other day, I made Gemista, Greek Stuffed Peppers which turned out to be absolutely delicious. However, when I took the peppers out of the bag to arrange them in the pan they wouldn’t behave properly because their bottoms were too pointy. What to do? What to do? Well, to get them to sit in the pan I turned them on their tops.

After cutting off the bottom, I noticed that they were the perfect little containers for the scrumptious stuffing. The flatter tops became the best bottom for my Gemista.

Once all the bottoms were chopped off, I was ready to stuff the plump peppers. I was debating on what I should do with the tops. Keep them on or use them for something else?

In the end, I decided to keep the peppers topless.

Leave a comment